Skip to content

I Finally Published a Girl Story!

November 5, 2022

It’s been a long journey, but I finally published a short story in which it’s clear I’m writing about women, in particular — mothers.

Usually, I don’t make gender easy. I have a tendency not to gender my main characters or to name them. Critiquers usually notice, but not right away. I’m often asked if I intend my main character to be male or female. I always know if I’m going for a gender or not, but I figure the reader can determine if that matters to them. A few years ago, I decided to just lean into the ambiguity I seem to be conveying.

But then came 2020.

One percent milk carton showing and expiration date of January 1, 2021.
The promise that a new year will exist

I know many people think 2021 sucked more, but I gotta say that living in Washington D.C. during 2020 was a much bigger suckfest than living in Washington D.C. a year later.

I don’t have any kids, but some of my favorite people do, and many of those people are mothers. It’s impossible for me to understand how moms everywhere didn’t lose their minds in 2020. There was nothing I could do that seemed to help them.

So I wrote “The Use of Reflections in a Storm.” It’s my tribute to the moms of the pandemic. They are amazing.

I’m so pleased The Razor published this story. And I’m blown away by Meliora Dockery’s reading of it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2022 8:14 am

    So exciting!! I am going to sit down and enjoy this later. Well done you. Amazing achievement xx

    Sent from my phone. Please excuse brevity, poor punctuation and grammar.

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment